We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best possible user experience. Disabling these cookies may prevent our site from working efficiently. To find out more about our cookies read our privacy policy.

Honorary graduates

Each year we confer honorary awards upon individuals in recognition of their outstanding achievement in their field, their contribution to the region or society or service to the University.


Honorary degree nominations

Nominations for award in 2015 may be made up until Thursday 8 January 2015.

Find out more about honorary degree nominations »


Honorary Graduates 2014
Camila Batmanghelidjh CBE
Sir Ian Gibson CBE
Will Hutton
Lord Indarjit Singh CBE

Honorary Graduates 2013 
Sir Philip Craven MBE – Doctor of Laws (honoris causa)
Shami Chakrabarti CBE – Doctor of Laws (honoris causa)
Professor the Baroness Haleh Afshar OBE, ACSS – Doctor of Letters (honoris causa)
Martine Wright – Doctor of Health Sciences (honoris causa)

Honorary Graduates 2012
Most Reverend Desmond Tutu - Doctor of Laws (honoris causa)
Ian McMillan - Doctor of Letters (honoris causa)
Glynn Ryland - Doctor of Letters (honoris causa)
Julia Unwin CBE - Doctor of Laws (honoris causa)
Sandi Toksvig - Doctor of Letters (honoris causa)
Dr Elizabeth White - Doctor of Health Sciences (honoris causa)

Honorary Graduates 2011
Sir Alan Ayckbourn – Doctor of Letters (honoris causa)
Marc Bolland – Doctor of Business Administration (honoris causa)
Hendre Fourie – Doctor of Health Sciences (honoris causa)
Alan Rayment – Doctor of Health Sciences (honoris causa)
Mike Tomlinson – Doctor of Health Sciences (honoris causa)
Howard Webb MBE – Doctor of Health Sciences (honoris causa)

Honorary Graduates 2010
James Caan – Doctor of Business Administration (honoris causa)
Valerie Taylor – Doctor of Health Sciences (honoris causa)
Janakiraman Ramachandran – Doctor of Education (honoris causa)

Honorary Graduates 2009
Eva Schloss - Doctor of Education (honoris causa)
Tanya Barron - Doctor of Health Sciences (honoris causa)
Andrew Dunn - Doctor of Letters (honoris causa)
Peter Randall-Page - Doctor of Letters (honoris causa)

Honorary Graduates & Fellows 2008
Yasmin Alibhai-Brown - Doctor of Letters (honoris causa)
Margot Brown - Honorary Fellowship
Rebecca Cooper - Honorary Fellowship
Professor James Walvin - Doctor of Letters (honoris causa)

Honorary Fellows 2007
Andrew Motion
Gareth Rees
Margaret Winchcombe
Yuichiro Nakagawa

Honorary Fellows 2006
Kate Adie
Cynthia Cockburn
Wolfgang Mastnak

Honorary Fellows 2005
Liz Allen
Ken Atkinson
Mark Herman 
David Hope

Honorary Fellows 2004
HRH Prince El Hassan bin Talal
Len Cruddas
Kay Mellor

Honorary Fellows 2003
Kate Atkinson
Revd Dr Stuart Burgess
Dr William Thomas

Honorary Fellows 2002
Madeline Hall-Jackson  
John Maw 
Professor Gervase Phinn

Honorary Fellows 2001
Dame Tanni Grey-Thompson OBE
Professor Gordon McGregor
Catherine Roberts
Ken Ridley