Browser does not support script.

Leadership and governance

Governing Body

The Governing Body has collective strategic responsibility for oversight of the University’s activities.

The University’s Governing Body brings together appointed people from different backgrounds, including the public and private sectors, the Church, education, and the voluntary and community sector. It also has representatives drawn from the University’s staff, and its student body.

Together, Governors are the stewards of the mission and purpose of the University. The Governing Body constructively hold the University to account for its decisions, and has statutory responsibilities to oversee various elements of its work, including its annual budget. It steers, shapes and supports the direction of the University. The Governing Body meets in full three times a year.

You can read more about the University’s vision and mission in its 2026 Strategy here: 2026 Strategy

The Governing Body has adopted a Statement of Primary Responsibilities. The Statement is aligned with the Higher Education Code of Governance and the registration conditions specified by the Office for Students (OfS).

Access our Statement of Primary Responsibilities

Access our last Review of Effectiveness

Read more about the University's relationship with the Church

Expressions of interest from those wishing to serve on the University's Governing Body are welcome all year round.  

Governing Body 2021-22

Governor Julia Unwin

Julia Unwin DBE

Chair of the Governing Body; Chair of Governance and Nominations Committee

Governor Maggie Pavlou

Maggie Pavlou

Deputy Chair of the Governing Body; and People Committee Chair

Governor Jen Adams

Jennifer Adams

Audit Committee Chair

Governor Neil Braithwaite

Neil Braithwaite

Finance and Capital Development Committee Chair

Governor Richard Frith

The Rt Reverend Richard Frith

Foundation Committee Chair

Governor Mohammed Ali

Mohammed Ali OBE


Jamie Andrews

Jamie Andrews

Student Governor

Vice Chancellor Karen Bryan

Professor Karen Bryan OBE

Vice Chancellor

Governor Cath Clelland

Cath Clelland MBE


Russell Davidson


The Right Reverend Paul Ferguson


Governor Mark Fordyce 2021

Mark Fordyce


The Right Reverend Dr Jonathan Frost


Governor Graham Henderson

Professor Graham Henderson CBE DL


Governor Ian Wallace

Ian Wallace


Staff governor

This position is currently vacant pending appointment.

Governing Body Committees

The committees of the Governing Body focus on particular areas of responsibility, making decisions on behalf of the Governing Body or bringing recommendations to it for decision.

Use the links below to find out about committee membership, meetings and minutes.

Contact the Governing Body

If you would like to contact the Governing Body please email Dr Amanda Wilcox:

Cookie Settings