Governance & Charitable Status

York St John University is a company limited by guarantee (Company Number: 4498683) and an exempt charity.

Its registered address is: Lord Mayor’s Walk, York, YO31 7EX

Key documents

Articles of Association

Financial Statements

 members of Governing Body, October 2017

The Governing Body

The Governing Body has collective responsibility for oversight of the University’s activities. It has adopted a Statement of Primary Responsibilities (PDF, 97.3kB) as recommended in the Higher Education Code of Governance.  Expressions of interest from individuals wishing to become members of the Governing Body are always welcome: Governor Appointments.

Information about Governing Body Committees, membership and meeting dates is available on the Committee page of the website.


If you would like to contact the Governing Body please email the University Secretary, Alison Kennell.



Governing Body 2016 - 2017

Ann Green CBE, Chairman of the Governing Body

Ann Margaret Green CBE (Chairman)

Chairman of the Governing Body; Chair of Governance and Nominations Committee

Mohammed Ali Governor

Mohammed Ali OBE


Jon Hammond Booth, Governor, Chair People Committee

Jon Hammond Booth

Governor, Chair People Committee


The Right Reverend Dr Tom Butler

Governor, Chair of the Foundation Committee

George Coombs, YSJU SU President, Governor

George Coombs

Governor, SU President

Russell Davidson, Governor

Russell Davidson


Dr Rob Edgar, Governor

Dr Rob Edgar

Governor, Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing

Richard France, Governor, Chair Finance and Capital Development Committee

Richard France

Governor, Chair of the Finance and Capital Development Committee

picture of Steve Milner, Governor

Steve Milner (Deputy Chairman)

Governor, Deputy Chairman, Chair of the Audit Committee, Chair Remuneration Committee

Maggie Pavlou, Governor

Maggie Pavlou


A picture of Prof. Karen Stanton

Professor Karen Stanton (Vice Chancellor)

Governor, Vice Chancellor

Ian Wallace, Governor

Ian Wallace