Academic Information

York St John University is known for its academic excellence and responsive nature, always putting the student at the heart of everything it does.

Schools

We are home to nine Schools:

 

Modules and credits

Study Abroad Module Catalogue 2019-20 (70KB, XSLX)

Please see attached spreadsheet for a list of 2019-20 modules for incoming study abroad/exchange students (subject to change for 2020-21).

For more detailed module information please visit our module catalogue. Please note that not all modules on the online catalogue are available for incoming study abroad/exchange students.

We operate a flexible modular structure enabling you to choose the modules most suited to you and your course.

  • A full-time workload is 60 York St John University credits per semester.
  • Most modules are worth 10 or 20 credits.
  • 60 York St John University credits transfer to 30 ECTS credits or 15 US credits.

Teaching and Assessment

You will study alongside our full degree students and complete the same assessments, which are usually written assignments or examinations. An academic transcript of results will be sent to you at the end of your period of study.

Academic Calendar

Our academic year is split into two semesters:
Semester one runs from September to December/January.
Semester two runs from January to May.
We welcome students for semester one, semester two or the full year.


Academic Calendar 2019-20

Semester 1  
Arrival Days Semester 1/Year Saturday 14 September or Sunday 15 September 2019
Orientation week Monday 16 September 2019
Classes start for Semester 1 Monday 23 September 2019
Reading Week (no classes) Monday 18 November to Friday 22 November 2019
Last day of class before the Christmas vacation Friday 13 December 2019
Depart Accommodation for those leaving at Christmas Saturday 14 December 2019
Christmas Vacation  
Assessment Period (no teaching) Monday 6 January 2020
Exam Period Monday 13 - 23 January 2020
End of Semester 1 Thursday 23 January 2020
Depart accommodation for those leaving at the end of Semester 1 Thursday 23 January 2020
Semester 2  
Arrival Day Semester 2 Thursday 23rd January 2020
Orientation  Friday 24th January - Saturday 25th January
Classes start for Semester 2 Monday 27 January 2020
Last day of class before the Easter vacation Friday 27 March 2020
Easter Vacation  
Classes resume Monday 20 April 2020
Exam Period Tuesday 5 May 2020 to Friday 15 May 2020
End of Semester 2 Friday 29 May 2020
Depart accommodation for those leaving at the end of Semester 2 Saturday 30 May 2020

 

Academic Calendar 2020-21

Semester 1  
Arrival Days Semester 1/Year Saturday 12 September or Sunday 13 September 2020
Orientation week Monday 14 September 2020
Classes start for Semester 1 Monday 21 September 2020
Reading Week (no classes) Monday 16 November - Friday 20 November 2020
Last day of class before the Christmas vacation Friday 11 December 2020
Depart Accommodation for those leaving at Christmas Saturday 12 December 2020
Christmas Vacation  
No teaching  Monday 6 January 2021
Exam Period Monday 11 - Wednesday 20 January 2021
End of Semester 1 Wednesday 20 January 2021
Depart accommodation for those leaving at the end of Semester 1 Wednesday 20 January 2021
Semester 2  
Arrival Day Semester 2 Thursday 21 January 2021
Orientation  Friday 22 January - Saturday 23 January 2021
Classes start for Semester 2 Monday 25 January 2021
Last day of class before the Easter vacation Friday 26 March 2021
Easter Vacation  
Classes resume Monday 19 April 2021
Exam Period Tuesday 4 May 2021 to Friday 14 May 2021
End of Semester 2 Friday 28 May 2021
Depart accommodation for those leaving at the end of Semester 2 Saturday 29 May 2021
Cookie Settings