ISREV Trustees and Executive Committee

The constitution of ISREV, approved by the Charity Commission for England and Wales, provides for ISREV to be managed by nine Trustees and three co-opted Trustees. Charity law requires that a majority of the Trustees should reside within England or Wales. The full constitution of the Seminar, as approved by the Charity Commission, may be consulted here (Word document).

Trustees are elected or co-opted for two years, elections taking place during the biennial session. Several weeks before the meeting, the General Secretary will contact all members to request Trustee nominations.

The Trustees also form the Executive Committee. This is required to have a face-to-face meeting once every year. The meeting takes place before or during the AGM. Week by week business is conducted by email.

The Trustees and Executive Committee for the period 2018-20 are as follows

President: Professor Gloria Durka,
Professor of Religious Education,
Graduate School of Religion and Religious Education,
Fordham University, Bronx, New York 10458, USA.
Tel: +1 718 817 4810 Fax: +1 845 351 5680

Vice-President: Revd. Canon Professor Leslie Francis,
Professor of Religions and Education, Institute of Education,
University of Warwick, Coventry CV4 7AL, UK.
Tel: +44 (0)24 7652 2539 Fax: +44 (0)24 7657 2638

General Secretary: Professor Julian Stern,
York St John University,
Lord Mayor’s Walk, York YO31 7EX, UK.
Tel: +44 (0)1904 876520 Email:

Deputy General Secretary: Dr Karen Walshe,
Graduate School of Education, University of Exeter,
St Luke’s Campus,Heavitree Road, Exeter EX1 2LU
Tel: +44(0)1392 264 983   

Treasurer: Professor Stephen McKinney,
Professor of Creativity Culture and Faith, School of Education,
University of Glasgow
Tel: +44 (0)141 330 3051   

Deputy Treasurer: Dr Bob Bowie,
School of Childhood and Education Sciences,
Canterbury Christ Church University, North Holmes Campus,
Canterbury, Kent CT1 1QU,
Tel: +44 (0)1227 782884 Email: 

Membership Secretary (Admissions): Dr Elisabeth Arweck,
Senior Research Fellow, Institute of Education, University of Warwick,
Coventry CV4 7AL, UK.
Tel: +44 (0) 24 7652 8434 Email:

Membership Secretary (Records): Dr Ann Casson,
School of Teacher Education and Development,
Canterbury Christ Church University,
Tel: +44 (0)1227 782993 Email: 

Chair of Programme Committee:Professor Martin Ubani,
Schools of Theology & Applied Educational Science and Teacher Education, University of Eastern Finland,

Deputy Chair of Programme Committee:Professor Dr Mualla Selçuk,
Professor of Religious Education, Faculty of Divinity,
Ankara University, and Director of Continuing Education Center (ANKÜSEM),
Tandoğan Yerleşkesi, Ankara, Turkey,
Tel: +90 312 381 67 26 Email:

Co-opted Trustee:Prof Dr Manfred L Pirner,
Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg,
Regensburger Strasse 160, D-90478 Nürnberg, Germany,
Tel: +49 (0)911 5302 548 Email: 

Co-opted Trustee: Christina Osbeck,
Head of Department of Pedagogical, Curricular and Professional Studies, University of Gothenburg, Läroverksgatan 5, 41120 Göteborg

Cookie Settings