Support for Early Career Researchers

At York St John University, we aim to support early career researchers to continue to grow and develop their research identity, become more experienced, and establish themselves in their academic field.

 Early-career researchers should find the following training and support schemes useful:


To discuss your research development needs please contact your School Research Lead (SRL) or the Head of Research Development, Dr Victoria Carpenter (v.carpenter@yorksj.ac.uk).

School GroupingsSchool Research Lead Emails 
School of Art, Design and Computer Science Dr Vanessa Corby v.corby@yorksj.ac.uk  
School of Education Prof Matthew Clarke m.clarke@yorksj.ac.uk 
School of Health Sciences Dr Alison Laver-Fawcett a.laverfawcett@yorksj.ac.uk 
School of Humanities, Religion & Philosophy Prof Pauline Kollontai p.kollontai@yorksj.ac.uk 
School of Languages & Linguistics Prof Helen Sauntson h.sauntson@yorksj.ac.uk 
School of Performance & Media Production Prof Matthew Reason m.reason@yorksj.ac.uk 
School of Psychological & Social Sciences Dr Stephen Gibson s.gibson@yorksj.ac.uk 
School of Sport Dr Andy Hill a.hill@yorksj.ac.uk 
York Business School Dr Peter Watt p.watt@yorksj.ac.uk