Research

Research Supervisors

Find a Research Supervisor by contacting our School Research Leads

The first step in your journey to a Postgraduate Research Degree is to find an academic supervisor who shares your research interests and is prepared to support you throughout your studies. Our research spans a diverse range of topics, with an emphasis on real-world impact.

If you could make a contribution to one of the specialised research areas listed on our Research Areas page, contact the Research Lead for the relevant School.

Here is a list by School of Research Leads at York St John University. We have expertise across multiple research areas and are accommodating to new requests. If there is an area you'd like to investigate, contact the School Research Lead and they will let you know if your topic is an area we are able to supervise. For more information on the research areas we cover, see our list of Research Areas

Selecting a Research Supervisor

Draw up a shortlist of two to three potential supervisors and take an in-depth look into their research history. If you think you have found a potential supervisor who matches your research area, you can contact them to check their availability for supervising you.

When you contact your potential supervisor it is important to:

  • Explain your research interests and how you feel your research proposal matches their expertise.
  • Prepare for face-to-face interviews, think of the questions they may ask you and prepare some answers.
  • When you have decided on a topic, and have a first draft of your research proposal, get in contact with your potential supervisor at York St John University and share your idea. They may be able to offer feedback and help refine your proposal further before you submit your application.

School of Art, Design & Computer Science

Dr Vanessa Corby, School Research Lead

v.corby@yorksj.ac.uk 
+44(0)1904 876749

School of Education

Professor Matthew Clarke, School Research Lead

m.clarke@yorksj.ac.uk 
+44(0)1904 876528

School of Health Sciences

Dr Alison Laver-Fawcett, School Research Lead

a.laverfawcett@yorksj.ac.uk 
+44(0)1904 876419

School of Humanities, Religion & Philosophy

Professor Pauline Kollontai, School Research Lead

p.kollontai@yorksj.ac.uk
+44(0)1904 876573

School of Languages & Linguistics

Professor Helen Sauntson, School Research Lead

h.sauntson@yorksj.ac.uk 
+44(0)1904 876880

School of Performance & Media Production

Professor Matthew Reason, School Research Lead

m.reason@yorksj.ac.uk 
+44(0)1904 876770

School of Psychological & Social Sciences

Dr Stephen Gibson, School Research Lead

s.gibson@yorksj.ac.uk 
+44(0)1904 876581

School of Sport

Dr Andy Hill, School Research Lead

a.hill@yorksj.ac.uk 
+44(0)1904 876365

York Business School

Dr Peter Watt, School Research Lead

p.watt@yorksj.ac.uk 
+44(0)1904 876178

Cookie Settings