Browser does not support script.

Research

Research Leads

Find a Research Supervisor by contacting our School Research Leads

The first step in your journey to a postgraduate research degree is to find a research supervisor who shares your research interests. Our research spans a diverse range of topics, with an emphasis on real-world impact.

Research leads

Here is a list by School of Research Leads at York St John University. If there is an area you'd like to investigate, contact the School Research Lead and they will let you know if your topic is an area we are able to supervise.

They will be able to put you in touch with a possible research supervisor within their area.

For more information on the research areas each lead covers visit the link below.

Our Research areas 

School of Art, Design & Computer Science

Dr Vanessa Corby, School Research Lead

v.corby@yorksj.ac.uk

01904 876 749

School of Education

Professor Matthew Clarke, School Research Lead

m.clarke@yorksj.ac.uk 

01904 876 528

School of Health Sciences

Dr Alison Laver-Fawcett, School Research Lead

a.laverfawcett@yorksj.ac.uk

01904 876 419

School of Humanities, Religion & Philosophy

Professor Pauline Kollontai, School Research Lead

p.kollontai@yorksj.ac.uk

01904 876 573

School of Languages & Linguistics

Professor Helen Sauntson, School Research Lead

h.sauntson@yorksj.ac.uk

01904 876 880

School of Performance & Media Production

Professor Matthew Reason, School Research Lead

m.reason@yorksj.ac.uk

01904 876 770

School of Psychological & Social Sciences

Dr Stephen Gibson, School Research Lead

s.gibson@yorksj.ac.uk

01904 876 581

School of Sport

Dr Andy Hill, School Research Lead

a.hill@yorksj.ac.uk

01904 876 365

York Business School

Dr Peter Watt, School Research Lead

p.watt@yorksj.ac.uk

01904 876 178

Selecting a Research Supervisor

Draw up a shortlist of 2 or 3 potential supervisors and take an in-depth look into their research history. If you think you have found a potential supervisor who matches your research area, you can contact them to check their availability for supervising you.

When you contact your potential supervisor it is important to:

  • Explain your research interests and how you feel your research proposal matches their expertise.
  • Prepare for face-to-face interviews, think of the questions they may ask you and prepare some answers.
  • When you have decided on a topic, and have a first draft of your research proposal, get in touch and share your idea. They may be able to help refine your proposal before you submit your application.
Cookie Settings