YSJActive: About Us

We all know that physical activity is good for our health and wellbeing. That’s why at York St John University we have YSJActive, an entire service geared towards providing an exciting range of opportunities for sport, exercise and recreation.

Our Mission

To offer exceptional inclusive sport, exercise and wellbeing opportunities through sustainable participation in sport, distinctive academic and vocational provision, and delivery of national strategies and business solutions within the regional community.

Our Vision

  • To be at the heart of community sport, exercise and wellbeing at York St John University and the wider region.
  • To increase sustainable participation in physical activity and to develop and nurture sporting talent.
  • To maximise efficient use of facilities and develop inclusive sporting opportunities through partnership.
  • To develop future leaders of sport, exercise and wellbeing.
  • To be a fresh thinking business partner providing solutions to sport, exercise and wellbeing challenges.
  • To increase the profile and reputation of York St John University through sport, exercise and wellbeing.

YSJActive has great links with key national, regional and local sports organisations. 

YSJActive is run by a team of fitness professionals with various qualifications and backgrounds. 

Our YSJ Active Team

StaffPositionEmailPhone
Rebecca Scott 

YSJActive Manager 

r.scott1@yorksj.ac.uk  01904 876300
Martin Bond

Development Officer - Community Support and Knowledge Exchange

m.bond@yorksj.ac.uk 01904 876123
Sarah Hawley

Development Officer - Coaching and Vocational Education

s.hawley@yorksj.ac.uk 01904 876804
Lucie Crowley YSJActive Sports Facility and Service Co-ordinator  l.crowley@yorksj.ac.uk

01904 876320

Lucy Lendhill YSJActive Sports Therapist l.lendhill@yorksj.ac.uk

01904 876320 

Ashley Cresswell  YSJActive Exercise and Wellbeing Assistant  a.cresswell@yorksj.ac.uk 

01904 876340

Jonathan Dawes  YSJActive Exercise and Wellbeing Assistant  j.dawes@yorksj.ac.uk 

01904 876200

 

Contact us

YSJActive Team

E: ysjactive@yorksj.ac.uk 

Foss T: 01904 876200

Haxby T: 01904 876340

Facebook: YSJActive

Twitter: @YSJActive

Instagram: ysjactive