Browser does not support script.

Student life

Meet the technical teams

Our technical specialists are active practitioners and experts in their field.

Using their skills and knowledge they lead the way in developing and facilitating applied-based learning.

The Technical teams across the Schools provide support for learning and teaching in many ways, including by:

  • Providing advice and best practice for the use of specialist equipment and resources
  • Overseeing Supported Open Learning (SOL) in the specialist spaces and labs
  • Training staff and students in using specialist equipment, resources and software
  • Managing the booking of equipment
  • Assisting in the planning and delivery of taught practical sessions
  • Maintaining and calibrating equipment
  • Overseeing Health and Safety in the specialist spaces and labs

If you have any questions or need help with anything to do with any specialist space or equipment or advice with a project, you will find the relevant contact details below.

Contacts

Head of Specialist Technical Services and Timetabling

Name TelephoneEmail
Jonny Woolsey  01904 876273 j.woolsey@yorksj.ac.uk 

Specialist Technical Team Leaders

NameAreaTelephoneEmail
Rebecca Brookes Media Production 01904 876 842 r.brookes@yorksj.ac.uk 
Simon Coulson Art and Design 01904 876 727 s.coulson@yorksj.ac.uk 
Charlotte Elwell Psychology and Education 01904 876 229 c.elwell@yorksj.ac.uk 
Christine Jones Health Sciences 01904 876 820 c.jones5@yorksj.ac.uk 
Andy Farthing Performance and Music Production 01904 876 148 a.farthing@yorksj.ac.uk 
Abby Woolsey Art and Design 01904 876 727 a.woolsey@yorksj.ac.uk 
Christopher Jones Health 01904 876 344 c.jones2@yorksj.ac.uk

Art and Design

NameSpecialist SubjectTelephoneEmail
Simon Coulson 3D/CAD 01904 876 727  s.coulson@yorksj.ac.uk 
Aidan Lucas 3D/CAD 01904 876 727 a.lucas@yorksj.ac.uk 
Clare Sunley Miller Graphic Design 01904 876 727 c.sunleymiller@yorksj.ac.uk 
Abby Woolsey Graphic Design 01904 876 727 a.woolsey@yorksj.ac.uk 
Penny Whitworth Digital Art   p.whitworth@yorksj.ac.uk 
Sophia Pearson Digital Illustration   s.pearson@yorksj.ac.uk 
Adam Raw Mackenzie Animation 01904 876727 a.rawmackenzie@yorksj.ac.uk 
Alex Jackson Games Design 01904 876 727 a.jackson@yorksj.ac.uk 
Jennifer Todman Photography 01904 876 352 j.todman@yorksj.ac.uk 
Paul Spillett Photography 01904 876 352 p.spillett@yorksj.ac.uk 
Lou Hazelwood Dark Room Photography 01904 876 352 l.hazelwood@yorksj.ac.uk 
Catherine Sutcliffe-Fuller Printmaking 01904 876 727 c.sutcliffe-fuller@yorksj.ac.uk 
Robert Oldfield 2D and 3D Making 01904 876 087 r.oldfield@yorksj.ac.uk 
Andrew Dalton Store   a.dalton@yorksj.ac.uk

For material orders and material expense claims, please contact thestore@yorksj.ac.uk.

To book the photo studio please contact photostudio@yorksj.ac.uk.

For general technical queries, please email the shared Art and Design Technicians mailbox, ADCtechhub@yorksj.ac.uk.

You can find further information and resources from your Art and Design Technical Specialists on Moodle:

Moodle

Biosciences

NameSpecialist SubjectTelephoneEmail
Ashleigh Elliott Biosciences 01904 876 344 a.elliott@yorksj.ac.uk 
Christine Jones Biosciences 01904 876 344 c.jones5@yorksj.ac.uk 
Andrew Reed Biosciences 01904 876 344 a.reed1@yorksj.ac.uk 
Thelma Reed Biosciences 01904 876 344 t.reed@yorksj.ac.uk 

For general technical queries, please email the shared Bioscience Technicians mailbox, labrats@yorksj.ac.uk.

Computer Science

NameSpecialist SubjectTelephoneEmail
Matthew Baxter Computer Science 01904 876 727 m.baxter@yorksj.ac.uk 

For general technical queries, please email the shared Computer Science Technicians mailbox, compscitech@yorksj.ac.uk.

Art and Design

NameSpecialist SubjectTelephoneEmail
Laura Stephenson Education 01904 876 495 l.stephenson3@yorksj.ac.uk 
Kieran Barker Education 01904 876 495 k.barker@yorksj.ac.uk

For resource requests, please email the shared Education Technicians mailbox, SoETechnicians@yorksj.ac.uk.

Geography

NameSpecialist SubjectTelephoneEmail
Dr Matthew Smith Geography 01904 876 322 m.smith4@yorksj.ac.uk 

Health

NameSpecialist SubjectTelephoneEmail
Christopher Jones Health 01904 876 344 c.jones2@yorksj.ac.uk
Samuel Sharman Occupational Therapy and Physiotherapy 01904 876 417 s.sharman@yorksj.ac.uk

Media Production

NameSpecialist SubjectTelephoneEmail
Beck Brookes Team Leader 01904 876 842 r.brookes@yorksj.ac.uk
Paul Jones Technical Specialist 01904 876 842 p.jones@yorksj.ac.uk 
Charley Hellier Technical Specialist 01904 876 842 c.hellier@yorksj.ac.uk 
Robert Neale Support Technician 01904 876 842 r.neale1@yorksj.ac.uk 

For general technical queries, please email the shared Media Production Technicians mailbox, mediaptechsupport@yorksj.ac.uk.

You can find further information and resources from your Media Production Technical Specialists on Moodle: 

Moodle

Drama and Dance

NameSpecialist SubjectTelephoneEmail
Richard Lawrence Theatre, Drama and Dance 01904 876 808 r.lawrence@yorksj.ac.uk 
Kiran Tanna Theatre, Drama and Dance 01904 876 808 k.tanna@yorksj.ac.uk 

For general technical queries, please email the shared Drama and Dance Technicians mailbox, dramatech@yorksj.ac.uk.

Music and Music Production

NameSpecialist SubjectTelephoneEmail
Andy Farthing Music Production 01904 876 148 a.farthing@yorksj.ac.uk 
Emily Rowan Music 01904 876 773 e.rowan@yorksj.ac.uk 
Cameron Smith Music Production 01904 876 148 c.smith3@yorksj.ac.uk 

For general technical queries, please email the shared Music Production Technicians mailbox, BAMPTech@yorksj.ac.uk.

You can find further information and resources from your Music Production Technical Specialists on Sharepoint here:

Sharepoint

Psychology and Social Sciences

NameSpecialist SubjectTelephoneEmail
Jess Brown Psychology 01904 876 089 j.brown2@yorksj.ac.uk 
Charlotte Elwell Psychology 01904 876 229 c.elwell@yorksj.ac.uk 
Justyna Needham Psychology 01904 876 089 j.needham@yorksj.ac.uk 

For general technical queries, please email the shared Psychology Technicians mailbox, tech.pss@yorksj.ac.uk.

You can find further information and resources from your Psychology Technical Specialists on Moodle:

Moodle

Sport

NameSpecialist SubjectTelephoneEmail
Anna Brassell Physiology 01904 876 344 a.brassell@yorksj.ac.uk 
Christopher Jones         Biomechanics 01904 876 344 c.jones2@yorksj.ac.uk 

For general technical queries, please email the shared Sport Technicians mailbox, sos.technicians@yorksj.ac.uk.

Cookie Settings