Browser does not support script.

Student life

Meet the technical teams

Our technical specialists are active practitioners and experts in their field. Using their skills and knowledge they lead the way in developing and facilitating applied-based learning.

University buildings are currently closed. You can still contact your Technical Specialists by email or Microsoft Teams. Email addresses are provided below.

 

The Technical teams across the Schools provide support for learning and teaching in many ways, including by:

  • Providing advice and best practice for the use of specialist equipment and resources;
  • Overseeing Supported Open Learning (SOL) in the specialist spaces and labs;
  • Training staff and students in using specialist equipment, resources and software;
  • Managing the booking of equipment;
  • Assisting in the planning and delivery of taught practical sessions;
  • Maintaining and calibrating equipment;
  • Overseeing Health & Safety in the specialist spaces and labs.

If you have any questions or need help with anything to do with any specialist space or equipment or advice with a project, you will find the relevant contact details below.

Head of Specialist Technical Services

Name TelephoneEmail
Jonny Woolsey  +44(0)1904 876273 j.woolsey@yorksj.ac.uk 

Specialist Technical Team Leaders

NameAreaTelephoneEmail
Rebecca Brookes Media Production +44 (0) 1904 876842 r.brookes@yorksj.ac.uk 
Simon Coulson Art & Design +44 (0) 1094 876727 s.coulson@yorksj.ac.uk 
Charlotte Elwell Psychology & Education +44 (0) 1094 876229 c.elwell@yorksj.ac.uk 
Christine Jones Health Sciences +44 (0) 1904 876820 c.jones5@yorksj.ac.uk 
Andy Farthing Performance and Music Production +44 (0) 1094 876148 a.farthing@yorksj.ac.uk 
Abby Woolsey Graphic Design +44 (0)1904 876727 a.woolsey@yorksj.ac.uk 

Art & Design

NameSpecialist SubjectTelephoneEmail
Simon Coulson 3D/CAD +44 (0)1904 876727  s.coulson@yorksj.ac.uk 
Aidan Lucas 3D/CAD +44 (0)1904 876727 a.lucas@yorksj.ac.uk 
Clare Sunley Miller Graphic Design +44 (0)1904 876727 c.sunleymiller@yorksj.ac.uk 
Abby Woolsey Graphic Design +44 (0)1904 876727 a.woolsey@yorksj.ac.uk 
Penny Whitworth Digital Art   p.whitworth@yorksj.ac.uk 
Sophia Pearson Digital Illustration   s.pearson@yorksj.ac.uk 
Adam Raw Mackenzie Animation +44 (0) 1094 876727 a.rawmackenzie@yorksj.ac.uk 
Alex Jackson Games Design +44(0)1094 876727 a.jackson@yorksj.ac.uk 
Jennifer Todman Photography +44 (0) 1094 876352 j.todman@yorksj.ac.uk 
Paul Spillett Photography +44 (0) 1094 876352 p.spillett@yorksj.ac.uk 
Lou Hazelwood Dark Room Photography +44 (0) 1094 876352 l.hazelwood@yorksj.ac.uk 
Catherine Sutcliffe-Fuller Printmaking +44 (0) 1094 876727 c.sutcliffe-fuller@yorksj.ac.uk 
Robert Oldfield 2D & 3D Making +44 (0) 1094 876087 r.oldfield@yorksj.ac.uk 
Joe Farrington Store   j.farrington@yorksj.ac.uk 

For material orders and material expense claims, please contact thestore@yorksj.ac.uk.

To book the photo studio please contact photostudio@yorksj.ac.uk.

For general technical queries, please email the shared Art & Design Technicians mailbox, ADCtechhub@yorksj.ac.uk.

You can find further information and resources from your Art & Design Technical Specialists on Moodle:

Moodle

Computer Science

NameSpecialist SubjectTelephoneEmail
Matthew Baxter Computer Science +44 (0) 1904 876727 m.baxter@yorksj.ac.uk 
David Smith Computer Science +44 (0) 1904 876727 d.smith3@yorksj.ac.uk 

For general technical queries, please email the shared Computer Science Technicians mailbox, compscitech@yorksj.ac.uk.

NameSpecialist SubjectTelephoneEmail
Laura Stephenson Education +44 (0)1904 876495 l.stephenson3@yorksj.ac.uk 

For resource requests, please email the shared Education Technicians mailbox, SoETechnicians@yorksj.ac.uk

NameSpecialist SubjectTelephoneEmail
Ashleigh Elliott Biosciences +44 (0)1904 876344 a.elliott@yorksj.ac.uk 
Christine Jones Biosciences +44 (0)1904 876344 c.jones5@yorksj.ac.uk 
Andrew Reed Biosciences +44 (0)1904 876344 a.reed1@yorksj.ac.uk 
Thelma Reed Biosciences +44 (0)1904 876344 t.reed@yorksj.ac.uk 
Samuel Sharman      Occupational Therapy & Physiotherapy +44 (0)1904 876417 s.sharman@yorksj.ac.uk 

For general technical queries, please email the shared Bioscience Technicians mailbox, labrats@yorksj.ac.uk.

Drama and Dance

NameSpecialist SubjectTelephoneEmail
Richard Lawrence Theatre, Drama & Dance +44 (0)1904 876808 r.lawrence@yorksj.ac.uk 
Kiran Tanna Theatre, Drama & Dance +44 (0)1904 876808 k.tanna@yorksj.ac.uk 

For general technical queries, please email the shared Drama and Dance Technicians mailbox, dramatech@yorksj.ac.uk.

Media Production

NameSpecialist SubjectTelephoneEmail
Beck Brookes Team Leader +44 (0)1904 876842 r.brookes@yorksj.ac.uk
Paul Jones Technical Specialist +44 (0)1904 876842 p.jones@yorksj.ac.uk 
Charley Hellier Technical Specialist +44 (0)1904 876842 c.hellier@yorksj.ac.uk 
Robert Neale Support Technician +44 (0)1904 876842 r.neale1@yorksj.ac.uk 

For general technical queries, please email the shared Media Production Technicians mailbox, mediaptechsupport@yorksj.ac.uk.

You can find further information and resources from your Media Production Technical Specialists on Moodle: 

Moodle

Music and Music Production

NameSpecialist SubjectTelephoneEmail
Andy Farthing Music Production +44 (0)1904 876148 a.farthing@yorksj.ac.uk 
Emily Rowan Music +44 (0)1904 876773 e.rowan@yorksj.ac.uk 
Cameron Smith Music Production +44 (0)1904 876148 c.smith3@yorksj.ac.uk 

For general technical queries, please email the shared Music Production Technicians mailbox, BAMPTech@yorksj.ac.uk.

 

You can find further information and resources from your Music Production Technical Specialists on Sharepoint here:

Sharepoint

NameSpecialist SubjectTelephoneEmail
Jess Brown Psychology +44 (0)1904 876089 j.brown2@yorksj.ac.uk 
Charlotte Elwell Psychology +44 (0)1904 876229 c.elwell@yorksj.ac.uk 
Justyna Needham Psychology +44 (0)1904 876089 j.needham@yorksj.ac.uk 

For general technical queries, please email the shared Psychology Technicians mailbox, tech.pss@yorksj.ac.uk.

You can find further information and resources from your Psychology Technical Specialists on Moodle:

Moodle

NameSpecialist SubjectTelephoneEmail
Anna Brassell Physiology +44 (0)1904 876344 a.brassell@yorksj.ac.uk 
Christopher Jones         Biomechanics +44 (0)1904 876344 c.jones2@yorksj.ac.uk 

For general technical queries, please email the shared Sport Technicians mailbox, sos.technicians@yorksj.ac.uk.

NameSpecialist SubjectTelephoneEmail
Dr Matthew Smith Geography +44 (0) 1904 876322 m.smith4@yorksj.ac.uk 

Cookie Settings