Browser does not support script.

Leadership and governance

Board of Governors

The Board of Governors has collective strategic responsibility for oversight of the University’s activities.

The University's Board of Governors brings together appointed people from different backgrounds, including the public and private sectors, the Church, education, and the voluntary and community sector. It also has representatives drawn from the University’s staff, and its student body.

Together, Governors are the stewards of the mission and purpose of the University. The Board of Governors constructively hold the University to account for its decisions, and has statutory responsibilities to oversee various elements of its work, including its annual budget. It steers, shapes and supports the direction of the University. The Board of Governors meets in full three times a year.

You can read more about the University's vision and mission in its 2026 Strategy here: 2026 Strategy

The Board of Governors has adopted a Statement of Primary Responsibilities: Statement of Primary Responsibilities 2021-22 (PDF, 83 kB)

The Statement is aligned with the Higher Education Code of Governance and the registration conditions specified by the Office for Students (OfS).

Board of Governors 2021-22

Governor Julia Unwin

Julia Unwin DBE

Chair of the Board of Governors; Chair of Governance and Nominations Committee

Governor Maggie Pavlou

Maggie Pavlou

Deputy Chair of the Board of Governors; and People Committee Chair

Governor Jen Adams

Jennifer Adams

Audit Committee Chair

Governor Neil Braithwaite

Neil Braithwaite

Finance and Capital Development Committee Chair

Governor Richard Frith

The Rt Reverend Richard Frith

Foundation Committee Chair

Governor Mohammed Ali

Mohammed Ali OBE


Jamie Andrews

Jamie Andrews

Student Governor

Vice Chancellor Karen Bryan

Professor Karen Bryan OBE

Vice Chancellor

Governor Cath Clelland

Cath Clelland MBE


Russell Davidson


The Right Reverend Paul Ferguson


Governor Mark Fordyce 2021

Mark Fordyce


The Right Reverend Dr Jonathan Frost


Governor Graham Henderson

Professor Graham Henderson CBE DL


Governor Ian Wallace

Ian Wallace


Staff governor

This position is currently vacant pending appointment.

Contact the Board of Governors

If you would like to contact the Board of Governors please email Dr Amanda Wilcox:

Cookie Settings