Browser does not support script.


Honorary Graduates 2014

Sir Ian Gibson CBE - Doctor of Business Administration (honoris causa)

Sir Ian is being recognised for his influence in the world of business. He is currently Chairman of Morrisons, a position he has held since 2008, and will retire from this role in October. Sir Ian enjoyed a distinguished 30-year career in the motor industry, most recently as President of Nissan Europe. His previous appointments include Chairman of Trinity Mirror and BPB Plc, a member of the Court of the Bank of England, Deputy Chairman of Asda Group Plc, and Non-executive Director of Greggs Plc and Northern Rock Plc.

Will Hutton - Doctor of Letters (honoris causa)

Will, who will receive an honorary degree for his services to higher education, is chair of the Independent Fees Commission, established to investigate the impact of £9,000 annual fees on applications, offers and acceptances at English universities. He has worked on BBC radio and TV, including as economics correspondent for Newsnight and continues to write a column for the Observer and occasionally for the Financial Times. He is currently Principal of Hertford College Oxford and chairs the charity the Big Innovation Centre, and is a director of the Scott Trust.

Lord Indarjit Singh CBE - Doctor of Letters (honoris causa)

Lord Singh is widely regarded as the religious and secular voice of British Sikhs and is being awarded for his contribution to British life and input in working for cohesion and understanding between different religious and cultural communities. He is a founder member of the Inter Faith Network UK and was its first elected Chair.
Lord Singh also works in broadcasting and journalism with articles published in the Times, Guardian and Independent plus he has contributed to the Thought For The Day on BBC Radio 4 for 30 years.

Cookie Settings