How to Apply

Step-by-Step Guide to Application (non-languages students)

Studying abroad requires careful consideration, commitment, and planning. We have created the step-by-step application guide below to help you make the right decision. We will be accepting applications for 2018-19 exchanges from 1 December 2017 to 12 January 2018.

1. Read all ‘Outgoing York St John Student’ pages

  • Check where and when you can study abroad with your course
  • Compare and research partner institutions

2. Make an appointment with your York St John Learning Support or Well-being Advisor (if applicable) to discuss support abroad

3. Attend our Study Abroad Fair on Wednesday 25 October, 2.00pm – 3.00pm in De Grey Foyer to find out more and meet former participants and incoming students from our partner universities

4. Make an appointment with a Study Abroad Coordinator to discuss your options. Please note that you must meet with a Study Abroad Coordinator before you apply.

Book an Online Tutorial to meet a Study Abroad Coordinator:

Tutorial with Andreea  Tutorial with Alizee 

5. Select your first and second choice host institutions

6. Ensure you are fully committed and have considered costs

7. Apply from 1 December 2017 to 12 January 2018 (application form available from 1 December on the website)

Application:

DEADLINE: FRIDAY 12 JANUARY MIDNIGHT - Applications received after the deadline will NOT be considered 

Study Abroad Application Form

Please read the Application Guide 2018-19 (PDF, 119KB)

 

Selection:

Applying to study abroad is a competitive process. Your application will need to be supported by your School and will be scored in the following areas:

  • Academic marks: 55% minimum average mark (non-languages) 
  • Personal Statement

 

Contact Us (non-academic queries)

E: studyabroad@yorksj.ac.uk 

Phone: +44 (0)1904 876941

Room: QE008

 

For academic queries, please contact your Study Abroad Academic Advisor:

Art and Design
Joanna Sperryn-Jones
E: j.sperryn-jones@yorksj.ac.uk

Business
Keith Brighty
E: K.Brighty@yorksj.ac.uk

Humanities: American Studies, History, War Studies
Elodie Duché
E: e.duche@yorksj.ac.uk

Humanities: English Literature
Saffron Walkling
E: S.Walkling@yorksj.ac.uk

Humanities: Creative Writing
Kimberly Campanello
E: k.campanello@yorksj.ac.uk

Humanities: Geography
Jude Parks
E: j.parks@yorksj.ac.uk

Humanities: Media Studies, Film Studies
Martin Hall
E: m.hall@yorksj.ac.uk

Humanities: Religion and Philosophy
Gill Simpson
E: G.Simpson@yorksj.ac.uk

Linguistics
Beverly Geesin
E: b.geesin@yorksj.ac.uk 

Languages: French
Alison Organ
E: a.organ@yorksj.ac.uk 

Languages: German
Alison Organ
E: a.organ@yorksj.ac.uk 

Languages: Japanese
Mary Murata
E: m.murata@yorksj.ac.uk 

Languages: Spanish
Marion Martinez
E: m.martinez@yorksj.ac.uk 

Performance: Dance/Drama
Robert Wilsmore
E: R.Wilsmore@yorksj.ac.uk

Performance: Music
Ralph Bateman
E: R.Bateman@yorksj.ac.uk 

Performance: Media Production / Media Production (Journalism) / Media Production (Radio)
Jenny Kean
E: j.kean@yorksj.ac.uk

Performance: Media Production (Film and TV)
Dan Crawforth
E: D.Crawforth@yorksj.ac.uk

Psychology
Michael Stiratt
E: m.stirrat@yorksj.ac.uk

Social Sciences: Children, Young People & Families / Early Childhood Studies
Sam Shaw
E: s.shaw@yorksj.ac.uk

Social Sciences: Education Studies
Helen Rowe
E: h.rowe@yorksj.ac.uk

Social Sciences: Criminology, Sociology
Benedikt Lehmann
E: b.lehmann@yorksj.ac.uk

Sports
Brett Wilkie
E: B.Wilkie@yorksj.ac.uk

Teacher Education: Primary Education
Sally Maynard
E: S.Maynard@yorksj.ac.uk