How to Apply

Step-by-Step Guide to Application (non-languages students)

Studying abroad requires careful consideration, commitment, and planning. We have created the step-by-step application guide below to help you make the right decision. We will be accepting applications for 2018-19 exchanges from Monday 3 December 2018 to Friday 11 January 2019.

1. Read all ‘Outgoing York St John Student’ pages

  • Check where and when you can study abroad with your course
  • Compare and research partner institutions

2. Make an appointment with your York St John Learning Support or Well-being Advisor (if applicable) to discuss support abroad

3. Attend our Study Abroad Fair on Wednesday 17 October 2018, 1.00pm – 3.00pm in De Grey Foyer to find out more and meet former participants and incoming students from our partner universities

4. Make an appointment with a Study Abroad Coordinator to discuss your options. Please note that you must meet with a Study Abroad Coordinator before you apply.

Book an Online Tutorial to meet a Study Abroad Coordinator:

Tutorial with Andreea  Tutorial with Jess (available soon)

5. Select your first and second choice host institutions

6. Ensure you are fully committed and have considered costs

7. Apply from Monday 3rd December 2018 to Friday 11th January 2019 (application form available from 3rd December on the website)

Applications will open in December 2018 for departure in 2019-20

 

For info, read the Application Guide 2018-19 (PDF, 119KB)

 

Selection:

Applying to study abroad is a competitive process. Your application will need to be supported by your School and will be scored in the following areas:

  • Academic marks: 55% minimum average mark (non-languages) 
  • Personal Statement

 

Contact Us (non-academic queries)

E: studyabroad@yorksj.ac.uk 

Phone: +44 (0)1904 876941

Room: QE008

 

For academic queries, please contact your Study Abroad Academic Advisor:

Art and Design
Simon Pattison
E: s.pattison@yorksj.ac.uk 

Computer Science
Kulvinder Panesar
E: k.panesar@yorksj.ac.uk 


Business
Keith Brighty
E: K.Brighty@yorksj.ac.uk

Humanities: American Studies, History, War Studies
Elodie Duché
E: e.duche@yorksj.ac.uk

Humanities: English Literature
Adam Stock
E: a.stock@yorksj.ac.uk 

Humanities: Creative Writing
Kimberly Campanello
E: k.campanello@yorksj.ac.uk

Humanities: Geography
Jude Parks
E: j.parks@yorksj.ac.uk

Humanities: Media Studies, Film Studies
Martin Hall
E: m.hall@yorksj.ac.uk

Humanities: Religion and Philosophy
Gill Simpson
E: G.Simpson@yorksj.ac.uk

Linguistics
Beverly Geesin
E: b.geesin@yorksj.ac.uk 

Languages: French
Alison Organ
E: a.organ@yorksj.ac.uk 

Languages: German
Alison Organ
E: a.organ@yorksj.ac.uk 

Languages: Japanese
Mary Murata
E: m.murata@yorksj.ac.uk 

Languages: Spanish
Alison Hayes
E: A.Hayes@yorksj.ac.uk 

Performance: Dance/Drama
Claire Hind
E: c.hind@yorksj.ac.uk 

Performance: Music
Ralph Bateman
E: R.Bateman@yorksj.ac.uk 

Performance: Media Production / Media Production (Journalism) / Media Production (Radio)
Jenny Kean
E: j.kean@yorksj.ac.uk

Performance: Media Production (Film and TV)
Dan Crawforth
E: D.Crawforth@yorksj.ac.uk

Psychology
Michael Stiratt
E: m.stirrat@yorksj.ac.uk

Social Sciences: Children, Young People & Families / Early Childhood Studies
Sam Shaw
E: s.shaw@yorksj.ac.uk

Social Sciences: Education Studies
Helen Rowe
E: h.rowe@yorksj.ac.uk

Social Sciences: Criminology, Sociology
Benedikt Lehmann
E: b.lehmann@yorksj.ac.uk

Sports
Alastair Jordan
E: a.jordan1@yorksj.ac.uk 

Teacher Education: Primary Education
Sally Maynard
E: S.Maynard@yorksj.ac.uk

 

Cookie Settings