Browser does not support script.

Funding

Scholarships for Postgraduate Research students

Funding opportunities offered by York St John University

Scholarships are grants given to a student that you do not need to pay back. We have the following scholarships available for postgraduate research students.

Institute for Social Justice PhD Fee Bursaries – 7 available

Trauma and Healing in Women's Arts Practice

We are looking for students interested in researching the intersection of fine art, counselling psychology and mental health in women's art practice.

Download the full brief: ISJ PhD Fee Bursary -Trauma and Healing in Women's Arts Practice (docx, 86.1 kB)

For informal enquiries contact Professor Vanessa Corby at v.corby@yorksj.ac.uk 

The Military Human: Arts, psychology and supporting the transition and wellbeing of military veterans

We are looking for students interested in researching the potential and efficacy of arts-based approaches to supporting the psychological adjustment and emotional wellbeing of military veterans. The project is in collaboration with our Military Human Project.

Download the full brief: ISJ PhD Fee Bursary - Military Human, Arts and Psychology (docx, 89 kB)

For informal enquiries contact Professor Divine Charura (d.charura@yorksj.ac.uk) or Professor Matthew Reason (m.reason@yorksj.ac.uk

Stakeholder participation in flood risk management

We are looking for students interested in researching the use of participatory research methods for the engagement of stakeholders and communities into local flood risk management practices. 

Download the full brief: ISJ PhD Fee Bursary - Flood Risk (docx, 0.1 MB)

For informal enquiries contact Dr Olalekan Adekola at o.adekola@yorksj.ac.uk

Children and young people as researchers: the impact and efficacy of participatory research methods with children and young people

We are looking for students interested in researching the use of participatory research methods with children and young people. 

Download the full brief: ISJ PhD Fee Bursary - Children and young people as researchers (docx, 86.5 kB)

For informal enquiries contact Dr Nathalie Noret at n.noret@yorksj.ac.uk

A duty of care for young people: differentiating banter from bullying in sporting environments

We are looking for students interested in research into distinguishing between banter, (in)appropriate comments and verbal bullying in sporting environments. 

Download the full brief: ISJ PhD Fee Bursary - Banter and bullying, Sport and Education (docx, 90.4 kB)

For informal enquiries contact Dr Mark Mierzwinski at m.mierzwinski@yorksj.ac.uk 

A longitudinal study examining employment outcomes for autistic graduates

We are looking for students interested in researching autistic graduates' employment outcomes on completion of higher education. 

Download the full brief: ISJ PhD Fee Bursary - Education and Sociology (docx, 91.5 kB)

For informal enquiries contact Dr Jonathan Vincent at j.vincent1@yorksj.ac.uk 

Communication through spoken word: Assisting students with mental ill health within mainstream secondary school

We are looking for students interested in researching the use of creative approaches and methods with children and young people to alleviate some of the effects of mental ill health issues. 

Download the full brief: ISJ PhD Fee Bursary- Creative approaches to mental health issues (docx, 86.3 kB)

For informal enquiries contact Professor Matthew Clarke at m.clarke@yorksj.ac.uk 

Applying for a scholarship

Applications should be made through the Research degree apply page

As part of this you will be asked to write research proposal of up to 1,000 words, which should include the following:

  • What do you see as the main research questions you would address?
  • What would be your methodological approach to the research?
  • What makes you the right person to carry out this research?

Please note that CVs will not be accepted in place of the application form.

Closing date: 4 December

Provisional interview date: Week beginning 14 December

Start date: 1 February

Cookie Settings