Browser does not support script.

Policies and documents

Trans Inclusive Framework

York St John University is committed to providing a trans-inclusive environment and supporting trans people, including those who identify as non-binary, genderqueer, and more.

We are committed to providing a trans-inclusive environment and supporting trans people, including those who identify as non-binary, genderqueer, and so on. 

The Framework is a set of documents designed to provide information to trans students and staff, and help the university community ensure we are as trans-inclusive as possible. This is supported by training for staff. We have a network of named persons in most services, if you want to raise specific issues.

We will keep the framework under review, and are working to raise awareness. We warmly welcome feedback to help us realise our ambition. If you have questions, comments or suggestions, please email our Equality and Diversity Adviser, Marije Davidson (equalities@yorksj.ac.uk).

Support for our trans community

We have created a guide that answers questions that many trans people and other students and staff have about our policies, procedures and support.

Read our Trans guide

The trans students support checklist highlights issues to consider for supporting trans students and transition.

The protocols set out procedures for making changes to records and addresses confidentiality issues.

We encourage students to contact our dedicated adviser who offers support and information to trans students. We also have named persons in most services, if you want to raise specific issues. Please scroll down to 'Contacts'.

The Students' Union President Wellbeing and Diversity and LGBTQ+ Students Officer are also available to support trans students. The LGBTQ+ Society can offer peer support.

The staff protocol outlines the support that can be provided to an individual who discloses either their trans identity or their intention to transition.

A checklist is provided to track and review the ongoing support that is being provided to a member of staff.

Staff can choose to speak to their line manager, or contact the HR Manager or Senior HR Advisor directly.

We also have named contacts in most services, should you wish to raise specific issues. Please scroll down to 'contacts'.

The LGBT Staff Network is available for peer support.

We recognise that some trans individuals prefer to use gender-neutral facilities.

Many of our toilets and changing facilities on our campus are gender-specific. Gender-neutral toilets can be found at the entrance from the access road to the dining hall in Holgate and in the Students’ Union. All accessible toilets and single toilet cubicles are gender-neutral. There is a gender-neutral accessible toilet and shower by the Foss sports hall.

Sanitary bins are provided in all gender-neutral toilets as well as female toilets. They are also available in at least one cubicle in the male toilets around campus. Signs will show where the units are once you are in the toilets. Sanitary product vending machines are in some female toilets in the main university buildings and in the Students’ Union.

Find facilities on our campus map

Role

Name and Email address

Pronoun (explanation)

Equality and Diversity Adviser

Marije Davidson (m.davidson@yorksj.ac.uk)

She/her

Contact for trans staff

HR Business Partner (Staff Intranet page) or email human.resources@yorksj.ac.uk to request the contact details. 

 

LGBT Staff Network Chair

Phill Gray (lgbtstaff@yorksj.ac.uk)

He/him/his

Dedicated contact for trans students

Anna Deacon (trans@yorksj.ac.uk)

She/her

YSJSU President Wellbeing and Diversity

Kirsten Jolley (k.jolley@yorksj.ac.uk)

She/her 

Admissions

Emma Robertson (e.robertson1@yorksj.ac.uk)

She/her 

Estates

Hannah Ridge (h.ridge@yorksj.ac.uk)

She/her 

Housing

Katie Lovett-White (k.lovett-white@yorksj.ac.uk)

She/her

Fountains Learning Centre (library)

Hannah Ridge (h.ridge@yorksj.ac.uk)

She/her

Registry

Aimee Henderson (a.henderson@yorksj.ac.uk)

She/her 

School Administration Unit

Claire Kydd (c.kydd@yorksj.ac.uk) or Lindsey Kelly (l.kelly@yorksj.ac.uk)

Claire: She/her

Lindsey: She/her

Student Funding

Rachel Loftus (r.loftus@yorksj.ac.uk)

She/her

Student Opportunities (Careers, Placements, Study Abroad and Exchange)

Jess Franklin (j.franklin@yorksj.ac.uk)

She/her

YSJ Active/Haxby Road

Sarah Hawley (s.hawley@yorksj.ac.uk)

She/her

Stonewall: provides information and support for LGBT communities and their alllies.

The Beaumont Society: offers help and support for the transgender community.

Yorkshire Mesmac: provides local peer support. 

MindLine Trans+: offers emotional support to people who are Trans+, A Gender, Gender Fluid and Non-binary and anyone wanting to talk about their gender identity. The helpline is also there to offer support and information to family and friends. 

Cookie Settings