Browser does not support script.

News article

York St John University Students’ Union Awards 2019

Published: 17 May 2019

Forget the Oscars or the BAFTAS, awards season came to York St John last night, as staff and students gathered to look back at some of the highlights of another successful academic year.

The annual York St John University Students’ Union (YSJSU) Awards are voted for by staff and students, and offer a chance to honour those who have gone above and beyond in their role at the University.

YSJSU hosted the awards for 2019 in partnership with YSJU Learning & Teaching Team, with over 100 guests in attendance. There might not have been a red carpet, but there was plenty of silverware.

Steph Foxton is the President of Education for the SU, “The nominations for all the awards were inspiring to read. The amount of love students have for the courses they study, the staff who support them, and York St John is brilliant to see. The night was a great success and a lot of fun. Congratulations to everyone who was nominated and the winners of the awards."



Employability Development Award: Rebecca Padgett

Project of the Year: Free buses

Feedback Award: Rebecca Tamás

Inclusive Learning & Teaching Award: Leesa Clarke / Rachel Wicaksono

Most Supportive Staff Member of the Year: Al Morrison

Service Team of the Year: Academic Liaison Librarians

Course of the Year: English Language & Linguistics

Pedagogic Research Award: Adam Smith & Jo Waugh

Inspirational Teaching Award: Andrew Thurman / Rachel Wicaksono



Postgraduate Community Award: Emma Walker

Student Engagement Award: Tene Dowling

Academic Reps of the Year: Daisy Taylor, Sarah Brown, William Kennedy, Reuben Kirsch, Lucy Park / Hannah Cook, Aimee Yeoman, Roisin Blackweir / Francis Atkin, Mega Whittles & Stella Lee

Liberation Officer of the Year: Katie Goodacre

Chair of School of the Year: Abigail Cranswick

Outstanding Contribution to Volunteering Award: Lucy Park

Outstanding Contribution to Academic Representation: Megan Barber

Outstanding Student Achievement: Laura Grove



Contact us

Communications team

York St John University, Lord Mayors Walk, York, YO31 7EX

01904 876 466

To contact us out of hours, phone 07812 365 499